Kevin Kempf's Blog

February 12, 2013

Installing the Oracle 11g Client on Ubuntu 12.1 64-bit

Filed under: 11g, Ubuntu — kkempf @ 2:01 pm

This pertains to who?

I suppose the audience for this post is pretty narrow; namely, Oracle DBA’s running Ubuntu as their desktop.  It’s basically a way to cram a square peg into a round hole and get the Oracle 11g (11.2.0.1) client running on Ubuntu.  I won’t go on another rant about why I don’t run Windows at work.  The beauty of it is, these days I don’t have to, have you seen Windows 8?  Ha, OK, let met get to it here.

My original post

I performed this experiment a few years back when I first went to Ubuntu as my desktop, and it was on version 10.  At some point since then, my walk through started to fail, so I was compelled to write it up again as I hacked up my OS to get it working.  Still, the original is more verbose, and probably worth a look.

Download the Installer

I grabbed V17532-1.zip from edelivery.oracle.com; this is the 11.2.0.1 64-bit linux client.  I think you could get it from OTN also.  Obviously, unzip this file somewhere convenient.

Get the required packages installed in Ubuntu

Basically, this means get all the libaio packages installed.  From software center, yours should look like this

software center installs libaio

Create symbolic links

You will need the following, run as root:

  • ln -s /usr/lib/x86_64-linux-gnu /usr/lib64
  • ln -s /lib/x86_64-linux-gnu/libgcc_s.so.1 /lib/libgcc_s.so (I created this before the install, since it was absent, and now it’s a file and not a link.  Not sure what to make of that, exactly)
  • ln -s /usr/bin/basename /bin/basename
  • ln -s /usr/bin/awk /bin/awk
  • I think the installer creates this one:  ln ­-s $ORACLE_HOME/lib/libagtsh.so.1.0 $ORACLE_HOME/lib/libagtsh.so

Screenshot from 2013-02-12 11:05:37 Screenshot from 2013-02-12 11:10:27goodone

Run the installer

runInstaller

The installer complains about the versions of all your packages; just hit ignore all, and force it to proceed.  Next, next, next just like Windows.

You will have to run 2 root.sh type scripts from the command line after the installer finishes.  There should be no errors whatsoever after the system check warnings.

Final Proof

proof

 

Blog at WordPress.com.