Kevin Kempf's Blog

May 3, 2012

How many DBA’s are 12?

Filed under: Oracle — kkempf @ 11:29 am

It’s been a long time since I posted, and I know this isn’t technical.  But I couldn’t resist.  I stopped reading comic books when I was about 12.

Awhile back, Oracle started rolling out their Database Machine or Exadata with Iron Man as their spokesman.  I’m not into Iron Man, but whatever.  I know the geek culture often permeates to the gaming/comic book world.  Then today I got the new Oracle Magazine.  We’re talking Hulk, Captain America, Iron Man and Thor.  Probably some I’ve missed or don’t know.

What I’m trying to figure out, is why the Hulk is hawking their proprietary hardware, and what his endorsement means to me.  Since a bunch of fictitious comic book heroes support an overpriced proprietary hardware platform, that’s supposed to influence me to buy it?  How many 12 year olds are purchasing authorities in your company?

If you can figure it out, let me know.  You can find them here

Image

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.