Kevin Kempf's Blog

May 17, 2011

A few updates from Oracle

Filed under: Oracle, Support — kkempf @ 12:33 pm

Remember the good old days?

Wasn’t it nice when you had to pull 15 patches, and you could quickly pull them to the server you were going to install them on, from a command prompt?  Nowadays, pulling 15 patches is a half-day endeavor, and hundreds of mouse clicks and annoying flash pages later you have a bunch of .zip files on your local machine which you now have to send off to the staging location.  Well it looks like there’s hope.  I’ve always known that Oracle had offered up wget as an alternative, but it just seemed so annoying to me I never pursued it.  Perhaps they finally plan to polish that process a bit, you can read about it here.  Basically, it’s an option to check off a bunch of patches on My Oracle Support and instead of download them, opt for a wget script to be written which you can drop on the command line of your staging server.

Some good news

Steven Chan’s blog is back online, after a slight appearance tweak, which is great to see!  If you’re running E-Business suite and you’re not subscribed to his blog, you should click over there right now and check it out.

Some really bad spam

I received this from Oracle today, regarding mobile MOS.  Anyone who reads more than a few of my blog entries knows there’s no love lost between me and MOS, but this one actually had me laughing:

My Oracle Support Mobile is happening!

Do you regularly use smartphones (e.g. iPhone, Android, netbook)?
Oracle wants your FEEDBACK on ideas for providing My Oracle Support on mobile devices.

Steps:
1. Try out a prototype for My Oracle Support on mobile
 iPhone version: http://www.demoright.com/d/80094605/
Blackberry version: http://www.demoright.com/d/91445899/

Really, when did a netbook become a smartphone?  How do you use iPhone, Android and Netbook as your examples of smartphones, and go on to link iPhones and Blackberry versions?  I guess iPhone was consistent.

Regardless, you don’t have to worry about being caught in front of me in my haste to go download it.  The survey was actually pretty good that went along with this, asking what features might be good for mobile MOS.  But really, I can’t imagine how I’d ever care about an SR after hours unless it was a SEV1.  And if it were a SEV1, you can bet the analyst would have my office/home/mobile phone number.

Every night, I put my Blackberry on the night stand and make sure it’s set to “annoying loud” to wake me up if OEM detects a problem on one of my systems.  I had to write a filter to stop any email from *.oracle.com from getting to my Blackberry,  because I’d get so many “Your SR has been updated” emails in the middle of the night (which is usually when Indian and European Oracle analysts update tickets).

Off the top of my head, I can’t imagine anything more annoying at 3am, than my Blackberry going off to tell me that Oracle had updated my SEV4 ticket giving me the password to a password-protected patch (don’t get me started on that issue!).   It would be a sad, stressful and scary day indeed if my enterprise were so dependent upon an update from Oracle support that I had to have it on my mobile.

If you’re interested, you can give input on this endeavor, by clicking on this link 

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.