Kevin Kempf's Blog

October 12, 2010

The /dev/null of adpatch?

Filed under: 11i — kkempf @ 1:17 pm

What 6863618?

Staging the Mystery

So I have to admit, up front, that this post is, in fact, a supporting document for a future post about Oracle Patch Wizard.  It seemed necessary to set the stage, so to speak, on existing problems, before I built on that assumption with a whole posting about Patch Wizard.

The gist of this post is that somehow, despite all appearances otherwise, Oracle 11i “forgets” about patches having been applied. Hence the picture here of Tommy Lee Jones from Men in Black.  If you haven’t seen it, or have forgotten, Tommy Lee Jones and Will Smith employ a “forget about it” stick which makes the viewer forget whatever alien thing they just witnessed in the film.    In my mind’s eye, I see this same thing happening to my 11i applied patches database table.

.

OAM says: Not there

So I’ve innocently decided to use patch 6863618 as my demo.  Being a good DBA (or, depending upon how you look at it, a bad one, in that I have to check the database to see if it’s applied and not my own documentation), I go to OAM and search for it:

Never seen him

.
.
.
.
.

 

Apply 6863618

Using adpatch, I apply the patch without incident:

So far so good

.
.

.

.

Look into the Neuralyzer

And here’s the proof that something has run afoul internally in the patches database:

Sounds familiar, but nope, haven't seen him

.
.

.

.

.

.

Implications

Obviously (with the times circled in red for your viewing pleasure) something isn’t right.  Either I didn’t just apply this patch, OAM isn’t looking for it right, or it hasn’t been recorded in my patch inventory.  This example will serve as a springboard for my (surprise!) rather disparaging review of the patch wizard next posting.  Incidentally, in the interest of due dilligence, I’ve submitted this issue for review via SR at My Oracle Support.  While I have no faith that the analyst will even grasp the concept of the issue, I nevertheless felt compelled to ask.

1 Comment

  1. Kevin,

    I’d like to have one of our developers follow up on this. Could you email me a copy of your SR number?

    Regards,
    Steven

    Comment by Steven Chan — October 13, 2010 @ 10:41 am


RSS feed for comments on this post.

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

Blog at WordPress.com.