Kevin Kempf's Blog

June 29, 2010

Discoverer 11g Installation on 11i

Filed under: 11i, Discoverer — kkempf @ 3:33 pm

Another Upgrade for the sake of Upgrading

Looking at my list of things to do, I recalled that Discoverer 10g (10.1.2.3) was on the bubble for upgrade to Discoverer 11g.  If you read here regularly, you’ll recall  that originally, Oracle planned to kill support for 10.1.2.3 in December of 2010, but something changed and they gave AS 10.1.2.x a 1 year reprieve (page 8).  I have no particular inclination to perform this upgrade, except that it’s just another “thing” to do sooner or later, and I had the time to play with it, in earnest, this week.

Product Certification

Like other Fusion entities (EM 11g and possibly R12, sooner than you’d think), Discoverer 11g ditched Oracle application server and moved to Weblogic Server.  Discoverer 11g comes in 3 flavors at the moment: 11.1.1.1, 11.1.1.2 and 11.1.1.3.  Per Oracle support, the certified version combinations are:

  • Oracle Fusion Middleware 11.1.1.1.0 is certified with WebLogic Server 10.3.1
  • Oracle Fusion Middleware 11.1.1.2.0 is certified with WebLogic Server 10.3.2
  • Oracle Fusion Middleware 11.1.1.3.0 is certified with WebLogic Server 10.3.3

When you add E-Business Suite 11i (or R12), you’re immediately stuck at 11.1.1.2 (as of this moment).  Late breaking news, 11.1.1.3.0 is now certified

Installation Overview

One of my major gripes with (con)Fusion 11g, is that the installs are so convoluted and peculiar.  In the case of Discoverer 11g, you first have to install Weblogic (10.3.2).  This actually went off without a hitch, and simply provides the framework from within which Discoverer can run.

Next you have to run the Repository Creation Utility (rcu) against your E-Business suite RDBMS.  This is like a mini-install, which effectively just forms a database connection and creates some new tablespaces and upgrades your repository to make it “11g ready”.  What, exactly, it upgrades, is a mystery to me.  Finally, you have to install Discoverer, but the installer includes everything but the kitchen sink.  I kid you not, here’s what’s in the download:

  • HTTP Server
  • WebCache
  • Portal
  • Forms Services
  • Forms Builder
  • Reports Services
  • Report Builder/Compiler
  • Discoverer Administrator
  • Discoverer Plus
  • Discoverer Viewer
  • Discoverer Services
  • Discoverer Desktop
  • Enterprise Manager Fusion Middleware Control

After running the Discoverer install, I’m required to apply patch 9387227 for 11i interoperability.  Of course, this won’t  work until I’ve applied patch 6880880 – you got it, the latest OPatch to the Oracle Home.  You can find Discoverer, the Repository Creation Utility and Weblogic here.   Interestingly, the RCU and  Weblogic are at the end under “Required Additional Software”.   To get 9387227 or 6880880 you can just search from Metalink.

So in the end, to install Discoverer, it’s Weblogic Server 10.3.2 (1 CD),  RCU (1 CD), Discoverer (4 CDs), and 2 one-off patches.  I wish this was bundled in some understandable way, but Fusion appears to be a patchwork of installs in competition with the labyrinth of Minos for clarity.

Weblogic 10.3.2 Installation

Nothing difficult here.  Just choose your paths and follow the bouncing ball, so to speak.  Just remember not to check the Quick Launch at the end.  The screen shots below depict 10.3.3; this is because I forgot to take screen shots during the 10.3.2 install.  They’re virtually identical from a GUI standpoint, I almost don’t even need to include any of them.

Launching the Weblogic Installer from the command line

Welcome Screen

Tell the installer where the Middleware home will reside

Don't call me; I'll call you

Just choose "Typical"

Give it a path. Coherence is new.

Here's the gigabyte of "stuff" I'm going to install

Happily working at installing

Repository Creation Utility

Just figuring out how to launch this thing was annoying.  When unzipped, it creates a folder called rcuHome, which has about 25 directories in it.  From the bin directory, run rcu.  The options and required information is pretty self explanatory until you get to step 3 called “Select Components”.  Under Portal and BI, you select Discoverer (only) and proceed.  Shortly after this time it connects to your ERP database, creates a few tablespaces owned by a schema owner you designated, and ultimately unceremoniously dumps you back to the command prompt.

Launching the Repository Creation Utility

Welcome Screen

Create (as opposed to drop) the components

Provide database connectivity information

Warnings, verifications, etc

You only need to select Discoverer

New Schema Passwords

New Tablespaces will be created

Final look before it runs

Discoverer

First of all, could the versioning be more confusing?  While someone at Oracle may think 11.1.1.2.0 is a great name for a version, I personally do not.  How about Discoverer 11gR1.2?  Or, perish the thought, just Discoverer 11gR2?  Are there really going to be that many versions of this thing?  Alright, once again, this install was largely “follow the bouncing ball”.   I purposely chose the defaults, and in the process created an near indiscernible mess on the operating system between ORACLE HOME being called as_1 and the ORACLE_INSTANCE being called asinst_1.  I’d urge you to try using something more meaningful.  I did make the weblogic domain name Discoverer, as I suppose, in theory, it could host multiple applications.  Under components, once again I chose to deselect everything I could (including Enterprise Manager for Fusion) and choose only Oracle Discoverer and the Oracle Web Cache.   I used auto port configuration and unchecked the “Use Application Level Identity Store” and we don’t use OID for authentication.  After running root.sh at the end, it said it was done successfully.

Launching the Discoverer Installer

Choose Install & Configure

System Prerequisite Checks

Provide the weblogic domain information you wish

Sign up for Oracle spam

Provide details on the installation location(s) and names

Choose Discoverer and web cache, uncheck clustered if applicable. Enterprise Manager at your discretion

Choose Discoverer and web cache, uncheck clustered as applicable. Enterprise Manager at your discretion.

Let Oracle figure out the ports..

Create a connect string: myserver.mycompany.com:1521:DEV or the like

OID integration, which I don't have to worry about

Installation Summary

Installation in Progress

It's not an install without root.sh

Post install configurations

Successful install

Helpful summary of locations and ports

More of helpful summary with URLs

OPatch & Interop Bug

These installed without incident, though the hardest part was figuring out how to set environmental variables for the new Discoverer 11g environment.  For what it’s worth,

the MIDDLEWARE_HOME is the base Middleware directory
the ORACLE_HOME is a subdirectory Middleware/as_1
the ORACLE_INSTANCE is subdirectory Middleware/asinst_1

Webcache Bug

I always hit a problem with the webcache.  The weblogic server was happily up and running, but when I went to the URL for discoverer, I got nothing.  There was some vague message to the effect of:

Failed to assign port 8090: Address family not supported by protocol

After a surprisingly responsive and competent analyst helped me for the better part of the day, I realized I was hitting a bug spelled out in ID 1113163 (which was supposedly only relevant to Suse Linux).  Effectively, there was a problem out of the box with IPv6 (which I didn’t have enabled on the host).  After adding <IPV6 ENABLED=”NO”/> tag below the </MULTIPORT> tag in the webcache.xml file, all was good and I was finally able to log in.

TNS conFusion

Since I started working with Oracle, the tnsnames. ora file has gone in $ORACLE_HOME/network/admin.  So Discoverer requires it in the instance home:  Middleware/asinst_1/config.  Makes sense to me.  Until you put in a valid entry for your ERP database, you cannot connect.  I put the file under the Middleware/as_1/network/admin (aka ORACLE HOME) and made a symbolic link to it in the Middleware/asinst_1/config directory.

Default URLs

Discoverer Plus: http://hostname:8090/discoverer/plus

Discoverer Viewer: http://hostname:8090/discoverer/viewer

Weblogic Server Administration: http://hostname:7001/console

Weblogic Marketing Propoganda: http://hostname:7001

Initial Impressions

Aside from the capacity to remember some of the login information and save it so I don’t have to type everything about my connection every time I go there, there appears to be no fundamental difference between Discoverer 10g and Discoverer 11g.  This truly was an upgrade merely for the sake of upgrading, my favorite kind. </sarcasm>

 

Creating connections is an improvement over 10g

Saved Session

 

Profile options

I should note, there’s a bunch of profile option values and autoconfig context file values which you may wish to change.  Realistically, I’m not sure how much they affect, but you should follow note 1073963.

75 Comments

  1. Hi Kevin;
    Good article.
    Just got our Pre-UAT system, so us techies can check out a few things before we release it ti the users.
    Apps 11.5.10, Discoverer 11.1.1.3.0.
    As the Disco Administrator, on the old 4i arrangement I used Desktop “Discoverer Plus” for development and Desktop “Administration Adition” for admin. With the new 11i ……
    1) I believe it is still Desktop for administration; not unwrapped yet.
    2) I there still a Desktop version of “Discoverer Plus”; an 11i Desktop Plus?
    3) If there is, which is the better of the two, web or desk top?
    (the 4i desktop plus was better than the web version – in my opinion)
    4) Are you able to list the new functionallity brought to the user with 11i? The users are bound to ask.
    Regards

    Comment by Steven Legge — September 2, 2010 @ 10:23 am

    • Discoverer 11g does require a windows desktop client for administration. There is still a desktop version of Discoverer plus as well as a feature-rich web/Java version. For our purposes, I found the web version of Discoverer Plus easier to administer; no more installing clients on users’ PC’s, no more worrying about their tnsnames.ora file, no more multiple Oracle homes on their desktop if they happened to be an ADI user, etc. I’d strongly recommend evaluating the web side and pushing for that.

      If you ask me, there’s virtually no new functionality in Discoverer 11g vs Discoverer 10g. I noted that you could save a login screen which saves the end users from having to type in all of their connection information every time they log in (username, password, user type (Discoverer, Ebusiness Suite or one other I can’t recall), EUL name, responsibility). Thinking back to 4i, I believe that the scheduler is a bit more intuitive, but in the end, the product hasn’t evolved a heck of a lot in 10 years. Behind the scenes, obviously Discoverer 11g (under the Fusion model) is using Weblogic server. I can’t say I see that as a benefit to me, but it is the direction Oracle is going.

      Comment by kkempf — September 2, 2010 @ 5:35 pm

      • Fantastic, just what I was looking for. I appreciate our having responded so guickly and having covered my questions so well.
        Rgards
        Steve

        Comment by Steven Legge — September 3, 2010 @ 6:42 am

  2. Dear Kevin,
    Thanks for your screen shots..

    I have installed and configured weblogic… Now, I stuck over Repository Creation Utility on 64bit.. Hope I will manage to get it..

    By the way, My Oracle DB and Discoverer(apps mode) in Oracle Apps in 9i.

    Do you think I can use the Repository creation utility, as I understand only 10g and above DB will work ???

    Can you share any work-around ?

    Do you think, My 10g to 11g Discoverer migration will work ?

    My Discoverer on 10g is running on Stand-alone Windows 2003 server on Apps mode.., now I need to upgrade to a new Windows 2008 (64bit) machine

    Comment by Ram — October 21, 2010 @ 6:47 am

    • I can’t give you any work around, in this case, I’d tell you to stick to certified platforms and database versions. If I were still on 9i, getting to 11g would by my first priority!

      Comment by kkempf — November 4, 2010 @ 7:48 am

  3. Hi Kevin;
    Great Article …
    Currently I have Discoverer 10g(10.1.2.2) on a standalone server RH linux 4(32bit) and integrated to Ebiz 11.5.10.2 …

    Now we are at a point to decide as to whether we need to upgrade to 10.1.2.3 for compatibility to Windows 7.0 / I.E 8 or to discoverer 11g as EOS for 10g is dec ‘2011
    So would you be able to provide your inputs on the right path.
    Does 11g require any seperate licensing factor ?
    What’s the compatible platform and space required ?

    Comment by skumar — December 1, 2010 @ 8:04 pm

    • I confirmed with my sales rep that there was no additional cost to move to Discoverer 11g. I’d recommend you doing the same. I see no reason not to move to 11g; it’s just 10g running on a new web server, as far as I can tell and it buys you some time on certification. I’m running it on my 32-bit linux applications tier in a separate home from the 11i install; so that’s RedHat 5 32-bit linux. I can’t speak to anything else. As to space, I think it’s in the 5-15 gigabyte range on disk for WLS and Discoverer.

      Comment by kkempf — December 2, 2010 @ 12:41 pm

      • Thanks for your response and really appreciate assisting in providing your expertise knowledge suggestions..

        Since we are currently on Discoverer 10g(10.1.2.2) on a standalone server RH linux 4(32bit) , can I install Discoverer 11g on the same OS version RH linux 4(32bit)or should it be RH Linux 5 ?
        I have 1 mount point with 100gb where I have the current discoverer OH , can I create the Discoverer 11g another OH on the same mount point …

        Comment by Suresh — March 23, 2011 @ 2:25 pm

      • 11g is certified against 11i or r12 on RH 4 or 5 (32 bit) all the way through 11.1.1.4. You can install it wherever you choose; it will be a new oracle home but there’s no need to create a new mount point that I can think of.

        Comment by kkempf — March 23, 2011 @ 3:06 pm

  4. […] The busiest day of the year was November 15th with 223 views. The most popular post that day was Discoverer 11g Installation on 11i. […]

    Pingback by 2010 in review « Kevin Kempf's Blog — January 7, 2011 @ 10:41 pm

  5. Hello Kevin,

    Thank you for adding that blurb about the webcache bug! That saved me a lot of time researching. I did exactly what you did and webcache was starting up successfully! This server was running SUSE 10.

    Comment by Gavin — January 25, 2011 @ 11:44 am

    • Glad it helped. Goofy little bug there.

      Comment by kkempf — January 26, 2011 @ 2:26 pm

  6. Hi kevin

    i really appreciate you for taking time in providing such a great article which will be helpful for all Discoverer Administrators

    i would like to ask your help in upgrading my system , i will post you all the details

    we are using Oracle Discoverer 10g(9.0.4) on linux 3.0 and we are planning to jump to Fusion in a month or so…. the number of users are nearly 1100

    few quesions that can solve my puzzles as i am the persion responsible for upgrade

    1. Can we go directly to Fusion?
    2. the components needed only fro discoverer in fusion (as far of my knowledge the components are weblogic server, RCU, Discoverer in oracle forms reports portal….., oracle discoverer 11g on windows for administration)?
    3. main question is about the EUL upgrade can we directly import the EUL into 11g and upgrade it ( as the old EUL is not compatible in 11g)?
    4. Are the existing workbooks compatible on Discoverer 11g
    5. is there a need to install Oracle database seperatly or just getting tns names from the earlier one?
    6. Can the current schema be used for Fusion version?

    your early reply is highly appreciated and once again thanks for helping us

    regards
    Rohit

    Comment by rohit — February 8, 2011 @ 10:20 am

    • I’ll try to answer your questions as best as I can, but Oracle support should be your definitive source.

      1. Can we go directly to Fusion? If you mean Oracle Discoverer 11g, yes, you can go there directly from Discoverer 10g. I can’t speak for all of Fusion generically, as there are about a million components.
      2. the components needed only fro discoverer in fusion (as far of my knowledge the components are weblogic server, RCU, Discoverer in oracle forms reports portal….., oracle discoverer 11g on windows for administration)? Correct. The Discoverer install only requires the Weblogic Server, running the RCU, installing Discoverer 11g to run on the Webserver, and the Windows Admin Tool
      3. main question is about the EUL upgrade can we directly import the EUL into 11g and upgrade it ( as the old EUL is not compatible in 11g)? The RCU takes care of this for you; I didn’t do anything special I just pointed it at my existing database and gave it a few tablespace names. It creates 2 new schemas (by default, SID_DISCOVERER and SID_DISCOVERER_PS) but they don’t have many tables so my (unconfirmed) hunch is that it’s still using your old EUL_US tables as well.
      4. Are the existing workbooks compatible on Discoverer 11g? All of my workbooks came across fine from Discoverer 10g. This was a refreshing surprise.
      5. is there a need to install Oracle database seperatly or just getting tns names from the earlier one? I am using this with my 11i Apps database; I didn’t change anything except to drop the tnsnames.ora file into the location noted in my blog entry.
      6. Can the current schema be used for Fusion version? See #5

      As a final general comment, the upgrade from 10g to 11g seemed largely to accommodate the Weblogic server. The executables running on the OS still say disco51, the internals reference Discoverer 10 in places. In other words, it feels like this was a “quick fix” by Oracle to get Discoverer aligned with conFusion. In other words, it’s largely an administrative upgrade, and I don’t think you’ll have many issues. Try it in a DEV environment, I’ll bet it mostly just “works”.

      Comment by kkempf — February 8, 2011 @ 11:23 am

      • Thanks for your valuable reply Kevin,

        i have not participated in Discoverer upgrades and migrations . so was having many doubts as i am preparing a Upgrade document on Discoverer.

        a few more questions.

        How can we migrate the users into 11g ,is it just giving them access directly to database as if in the (9.0.4)

        i am having oracle Databse 10g(10.2.0.4) . i guess this works accrding to oracle . do you want me to go for 11g database?

        I know i must not ask this , if you have prepared a document on discoverer upgrade or fusion installation , could you please post me . it would be a great help for me.

        Thanks for your inputs in advance

        rohit

        Comment by rohit — February 8, 2011 @ 1:59 pm

      • How can we migrate the users into 11g ,is it just giving them access directly to database as if in the (9.0.4)? They should already have the database access if this is a discoverer only (as opposed to 11i Discoverer) install. I don’t know for sure, though, my install was linked via ebusiness suite.

        i am having oracle Databse 10g(10.2.0.4) . i guess this works accrding to oracle . do you want me to go for 11g database? seems totally up to you. 10.2.0.4 may not be a supported database at this point, though.

        I know i must not ask this , if you have prepared a document on discoverer upgrade or fusion installation , could you please post me . it would be a great help for me? I have a few entries on Discoverer 11g; query under search this blog for Discoverer and look at the most recent topics. I don’t have a formal document, as it wasn’t involved enough to merit one.

        Comment by kkempf — February 9, 2011 @ 11:54 am

  7. Hi Kevin,

    Thank you for such a nice blog, right now we are considering to upgrade 10g standalone discoverer integrated with EBS 11i to 11g discoverer, do we really need to install web logic server then install 11g discoverer.

    Thanks
    sathish.

    Comment by sathish — February 16, 2011 @ 8:16 am

    • Yep, you really need to install WLS 10.3.3 first. In fact, if you don’t, you can’t install Discoverer 11g.

      Comment by kkempf — February 16, 2011 @ 9:04 am

  8. hmmm, oracle making us hard life 🙂 .

    Thank you very much for you time, have a greate day.

    Thanks
    Sathish.

    Comment by sathish — February 16, 2011 @ 11:31 am

  9. can it be possible to install Weblogic server and discvoerer 11g on same server..?

    Comment by sathish — February 17, 2011 @ 4:39 am

    • Yes, in fact I think it would be hard to do it any other way. I haven’t looked at advanced configurations (where one might load balance or cluster a bunch of Weblogic servers which all serve Discoverer, for example) so I can’t rule it out. During installation, Discoverer (remember, a part of Fusion Middleware) asks where the Middleware (Weblogic Server) home is. It has to see it to install. I’m oversimplifying it, but Discoverer is just one of many options “add ons” or war/ear file deployments to the Weblogic server. In short, I’ve deployed it as a straight 1:1 install: 1 Weblogic server and 1 Discoverer installation and it works great.

      Comment by kkempf — February 17, 2011 @ 8:16 am

  10. Hi,

    how do we upgrade discoverer 10g to 11g, do we need to install 11g directly or would you mind if I request you to through some explanation

    Thanks
    Scott G.

    Comment by Scott — February 17, 2011 @ 4:59 am

    • The best explanation I can give you is in my most recent post called Discoverer 11g: Soup to Nuts install of 11.1.1.3 on Feb 15th. Essentially, turn off 10g, then you install Weblogic, then Discoverer, then run the Repository Creation Utility, the run the configuration utility, then do all the bug fixes, then apply CPU, figure out how to start/stop it.

      Comment by kkempf — February 17, 2011 @ 8:20 am

  11. Right now we are running Discoverer 10g on HP UNIX server, for upgrading to 11g discoverer

    1) Install web logic server (do I need to install only on HP server or can it OS be anything..? as 10g discoverer running on HP UNIX)
    2) Install 11g discoverer
    3) Run RCU
    4) Then run Configuration
    5) Upgrade to 11.1.3
    6) Apply bug fixes

    does above sounds a plan ..? ,please correct me if i am wrong anything or missed any steps above.

    Thank you very for your help.

    Comment by Scott — February 22, 2011 @ 7:51 am

    • FYI, I reposted a “composite” version of all my discoverer 11g install steps here: https://kkempf.wordpress.com/2011/02/15/discoverer-11g-soup-to-nuts-install-of-11-1-1-3/

      As to your questions:

      1) Since the requirement that the Disco 11g be in a separate home, you can make your install base for Discoverer 11g anywhere and on any (certified) platform you wish. It simply requires TNS connectivity to the core database. As a side note, on our (tiny) environment with at best a dozen users, the Disco11g memory footprint quickly grows to 2gb RAM if that helps your decision.
      2) Correct – Ensure you choose “software install only”
      3) I ran the RCU before the configuration

      does above sounds a plan ..? ,please correct me if i am wrong anything or missed any steps above.

      Comment by kkempf — February 22, 2011 @ 8:16 am

  12. Thank you my master, i will bug you 🙂 if i have any more questions.

    Comment by Scott — February 22, 2011 @ 8:28 am

    • I’m no master; I’ve just walked through the minefield before you. I noticed I misled in my earlier reply. I meant to say that you should apply your proposed step 5 after step 2 and push everything else back.

      Comment by kkempf — February 22, 2011 @ 8:41 am

  13. Thank you for correcting me, good people never agree like you.

    Have a greate day.

    Comment by Scott — February 22, 2011 @ 9:54 am

  14. Final Question to you..sorry for keep asking you questions.

    where did disco 10g to 11g upgrade will enter into picture ..?, please clarify me.

    1)install 11g disco(we are just installing)
    2)upgrade to 11g R2(upgrading from 11g to 11g R2)
    3)Run RCU
    4)Then run Configuration
    5) Apply bug fixes

    Thanks

    Comment by Sathish kadiyala — February 23, 2011 @ 6:00 am

  15. Hi Kevin,

    Thanks for your guidance. We have a successfull install of Discoverer 11g on our windows 2003 server.

    Some post installation tasks for us it to SSL-enable the site (make it https://ourhost.xxx.xxx/discoverer/viewer)

    I am thinking this would be a configuration on the WebLogic side of things, for 11g, as opposed to making changes in Oracle HTTP Server and Webcache either manually or using SSLConfigTool, in 10g AS. Please let me know if this is a correct assumtion.

    Also, our existing metadata repository on 10gAS was version 10.1.0.5 which was not recognized as compatible by the Repository Creation Utility (RCU) for 11g so I had to install a new database version 11.2.0.1 to address this. I think you will probably say that there is no workaround for this. I just wanted some confirmation that this is truly the case and that there are no workarounds

    Thanks again so much and More Power!

    Joby

    Comment by dereference — March 2, 2011 @ 9:22 am

    • I’m actually playing with SSL enabling Discoverer as well; I didn’t do it during the course of my upgrade. You’re right, it appears to be a Weblogic configuration with a java keystore; see note 1230333.1 and 1235653.1

      I pretty much refuse to use Oracle’s certify, as I can never find anything I need. Instead I rely on Steven Chan’s blog or just open an SR and annoy Oracle with certification questions, citing my inability to find any coherent message on MOS. Could you be hitting this in 1073963.1 :

      If you have an existing Discoverer End User Layer and it is from Discoverer 10.1.2 then no need to upgrade as Discoverer Version 11.1.1 uses the same EUL version as Discoverer 10.1.2. The database connection (dbc) file will not be transferred during the upgrade. After the upgrade, please perform Section 5.2.2 “Copy Database Connection file” manually.

      If you have an existing Discoverer End User Layer and its version is earlier to Discoverer 10.1.2, upgrade it to Discoverer 11g by using the following command on the standalone application server where Oracle Fusion Middleware Discoverer 11g is installed in Section 5.1.

      Good luck with your SSL; nothing is ever easy, nor well documented, with the new WLS, but it seemed if I had the right key formats it might just work.

      Comment by kkempf — March 2, 2011 @ 10:19 am

      • Hi Kevin,

        Okay, I think it is more clear now. I thought at first that I would need to do the wallet as well as the keystore to enable SSL for discoverer viewer but based on the notes you sent, specifically Oracle® Fusion Middleware Administrator’s Guide — Sections 8.1.1.1. and 8.1.1.2,
        ================================
        “You use a JKS-based keystore for the following:

        •Oracle Virtual Directory

        •Applications deployed on Oracle WebLogic Server, including:

        ◦Oracle SOA Suite

        ◦Oracle WebCenter

        You use an Oracle Wallet for the following components:

        •Oracle HTTP Server

        •Oracle Web Cache

        •Oracle Internet Directory”
        ================================

        As such, i think that implementing Doc ID 1109753.1 in metalink would be sufficient. Please just share your thoughts on this.

        Thanks again.

        Joby

        Comment by dereference — March 2, 2011 @ 12:49 pm

      • Having not done it myself, I can hardly comment, but your doc looks promising.

        Comment by kkempf — March 2, 2011 @ 1:30 pm

  16. Hi Kevin,

    Thanks much. Going through the notes you shared, it seems like the SSL-enabling part of it is more involved than I thought it would be. I thought it would be as simple as following Doc ID 1109753.1 in metalink.

    As for the migration of our metadata repository from 10.1.0.5 to 11g database, you did mention some sections, specficically Section 5.2.2 (Copy database connection file manually). can you refer me again to which document this pertains to? My apologies, I think i can’t follow the bouncing ball right now. 🙂

    Thanks again so much

    Joby

    Comment by dereference — March 2, 2011 @ 12:38 pm

    • That was just a guess; section 5.2.2 was a reference inside document 1073963.1

      Comment by kkempf — March 2, 2011 @ 1:34 pm

  17. Hi Kevin,

    Thanks much!!! will update you with results.

    Comment by dereference — March 2, 2011 @ 2:29 pm

  18. After Discoverer 11G upgrade from 10G, we are having the queries running for a ling time issue ( > 60 minutes vs 4/5 minutes. Can you please tell me the steps to Gather Schema Stats for Discoverer EUL?
    Thanks.

    Comment by ssk — April 29, 2011 @ 3:23 pm

    • You can certainly gather schema stats against the new discoverer schemas, using dbms_stats.gather_schema_stats (see http://download.oracle.com/docs/cd/B19306_01/appdev.102/b14258/d_stats.htm). I hope that fixes your problem, but I suspect that it won’t, as the overhead of the discoverer schemas seems unlikely to cause such a massive increase in run time. More likely, discoverer is building the SQL slightly different than it used to, and the optimizer is choosing poorly. You can use the “show sql” menu command in Discoverer (I think it’s under tools, but I forget offhand) to see what sql the report is generating. It’s a pain, because you have to figure out your bind variables, then run an explain plan to see where it’s falling apart. With a little perseverance you can get to the bottom of it.

      Comment by kkempf — April 29, 2011 @ 9:17 pm

  19. Thanks so much, I am so excited you replied to me. Actually, gather stat was done by DI, company that supports our Oracle. The performance did not improve a bit.We have a meeting with them at 2 p.m. (alaskan time) today.I will try the explain plan. But the sql from Workbook run in sql developer takes less than a minute! If there is any other progress regarding this, please let us poor people know. Thanks.

    Comment by ssk — May 2, 2011 @ 3:25 pm

    • In truth it sounds like the code needs some serious analysis. There’s a myriad of things to look at depending upon your skill level. SQL tuning is a topic beyond the scope of this blog (there are dozens of books devoted to this) but you let me make a suggestion: via enterprise manager (or database manager) you can capture the sql as it’s running, and either analyze/tune it with that tool (and possibly create a profile for that code) or fix it outside EM. That’s the simplest suggestion I have. Let me know what you find.

      Comment by kkempf — May 2, 2011 @ 5:37 pm

  20. Just wanted to add my two cents here. I successfully installed the latest (at the moment) stack on Windows 2008 server 64bit, but one minor hiccup actually drove me crazy.

    For the reference, the installation sequence was similar to described above:
    1. Install 11gR2 64bit RDBMS.
    2. Run RCU and create catalog Disco schemas.
    3. Install Sun JDK 64bit.
    4. Install Weblogic 10.3.5 64bit using GENERIC installer. Generic installers don’t come with JDK, so you’ll have to point it to the local JDK you installed in step 3.
    5. Install OFM 11.1.1.2, don’t configure.
    6. Patch OFM to 11.1.1.4. Configure.

    Here was the issue I faced. By default, when you use Auto Port configuration, Disco should become available on the port 8090. Even when you check EM console after installation, it says so right there. But when you go to …:8090/discoverer/plus you get the Apache bridge error. The actual Disco login page is on the port 9001! You’ll only find it if you inspect the Apache plugin config file, located at $INSTANCE_HOME\config\OHS\ohs1\moduleconf\module_disco.conf.
    Note: it sits on regular 8090 when you install all the above on a 32bit Windows.

    Comment by Vlad — June 14, 2011 @ 9:28 am

    • Thanks for the information, it’s always welcome here. I do recall some weird port changing problems like you experienced on Linux x86_64 but I can’t recall exactly what upgrade caused it. And pulling the generic version then installing your own JDK was the same on 64 bit Linux also.

      Comment by kkempf — June 14, 2011 @ 4:40 pm

  21. Kevin:
    After upgrade to 11G, we are facing some issues. First one is on the connections page the “Create Connection” button is NOT available. We have “Allow users to define and use their own private connections in Discoverer Plus and Viewer” check box checked and restarted the server in the Fusion Middleware Control(http://download.oracle.com/docs/cd/E15523_01/bi.1111/b40107/conns.htm#i1025029). But is is not working. Any thoughts?
    Secondly, the EUL5_qpp_stats is not registering any data. We changed the pref.txt file to have QPPEnable = 1 (got 0 in the upgrade process!) and QPPCreateNewStats = 1, according to steps described in http://download.oracle.com/docs/cd/E15523_01/bi.1111/b40107/prefs.htm#i1008666.We also have granted select on sys.v_$session;sys.v_$sesstat,sys.v_$parameter,sys.v_$sql sys.v_$open_cursor to public, at the user level in Administrator all users have Collect Query Statistics. It is NOT showing any day in the stats table. Any idea what I am doing wrong?

    Thanks so much.
    SSK

    Comment by ssk — June 30, 2011 @ 1:36 pm

    • It has been quite some time since I worked through this upgrade. Still, I don’t recall having to do anything special to allow create connection, your approach sounds logical. I do recall that the process to update a setting in Weblogic is convoluted, meaning that you have to apply all changes through some other button. Check and see if the results “stuck” for this selection. As to the EUL5_qpp_stats, I’m not familiar with that at all; what are the results of this “not registering any data”? I’d suggest you open a ticket with Oracle Support.

      Comment by kkempf — June 30, 2011 @ 2:53 pm

  22. HI Keven,

    We have 4GB Memory in our test disco server, up gradation went fine without any issue 11g from 10g, now some users are getting when they are trying to publish some reports Discoverer memory errors, i tried to find out some MOS but no luck, if you can get some documents please let me know.

    else is there anyway to increase WLS Memory ..?

    Thanks
    Kevin.

    Comment by KeveinTheDBA — July 4, 2011 @ 8:33 am

    • It appears you’re having some kind of problem when users log in, but you don’t specify it (perhaps you meant to?): “now some users are getting when they are trying to publish some reports”.

      Comment by kkempf — July 5, 2011 @ 9:18 am

  23. Hi Keven,
    Appreciate your article.
    I have a question. I need to install a discoverer 11g instance for each of our EBiz R12 instances (development, test and production). The R12 instances are on separate servers. I’ve got one new server to install discoverer on. Do you know if I can install 3 discoverer instances on the one server, ie one to connect into development, one for test, one for production? I assume one discoverer instance couldn’t be used to work on 3 separate R12 instances.
    I appreciate I could install discoverer in a separate oracle_home on the r12 servers themselves.
    thanks for any thoughts.
    Charlie

    Comment by Charlie — August 5, 2011 @ 9:34 pm

    • I don’t have any experience with multiple installs on one host. Theoretically it seems possible though I seem to recall reading about problems doing so. Might have been on another blog, can’t recall.

      There is nothing, however, to stop you from connecting to multiple databases from one install. Though my production environment is stand alone, my dev, test and train all connect through one install. Simply add the SIDs to the tnsnames.ora

      Comment by kkempf — August 6, 2011 @ 6:18 am

      • Thanks Keven that’s great. I’m an Apps DBA but new to Discoverer. I wasn’t sure one Discoverer instance could be used to connect to multiple databases. I guess you just create an EUL in each db and as you say setup the discoverer tns appropriately.
        Again, thanks for the quick response, especially on a weekend!

        Comment by Charlie — August 6, 2011 @ 8:50 am

  24. should i install discoverer in the same serve as the appl or i have to use a new one?
    what did you do with your installation?

    Comment by Alejandro Allera — September 19, 2011 @ 11:25 am

    • There is nothing preventing you from installing Discoverer on the same host as your Oracle Applications app server, the requirement is that it just has to be in its own Oracle Home. I started out this way, installing it alongside my web/forms/concurrent/reports server. I later backed it out and installed it on a different host. In my case, I have 1 node for the whole 11i front end, and 32-bit linux pretty much caps the host memory at about 16gb so it was just too tight.

      Comment by kkempf — September 19, 2011 @ 11:46 am

      • thanks keven! i really appreciate your help

        Comment by Alejandro Allera — September 19, 2011 @ 4:52 pm

      • I might add, that in retrospect, system resources aside, if you have the luxury of a separate host from the 11i app server to run Discoverer off of, I’d recommend it. It gets a little dicey, trying to discern which random java processes are remnants of a defunct apps session, and which are from Discoverer. It’s much cleaner stopping and starting Discoverer and 11i app server when they’re not on the same host!

        Comment by kkempf — September 20, 2011 @ 6:49 pm

  25. Hi,
    Thank you for saving me from another week of frustration. I installed/re-installed FMW / Portal+Discoverer at least 6 times before I found your blogs. THANK YOU VERY MUCH!
    LoAnn

    Comment by LoAnn — September 20, 2011 @ 5:54 pm

    • Glad you found it of use!

      Comment by kkempf — September 20, 2011 @ 6:47 pm

  26. Hi Kevin,

    I would like to install a test/ proof of concept installation of Oracle Discoverer 11g

    I would like to know the following:

    I am attempting to install Oracle Discoverer on Redhat Linux version 5 running on VMWare on DELL XPS Laptop. Teh Laptop has Intel core 2CPU T7200, 3GB RAM.

    Is this configuration enough for installing a bare bones Oracle Discoverer 11g.

    Sincerely,

    Kamal Agnihotri

    Comment by Kamal Agnihotri — September 24, 2011 @ 2:18 pm

    • Should work just fine. I’m not sure exactly what the minimum hardware recommendation is from Oracle for Disco 11g, but my production server isn’t much different than that, except a bit more RAM.

      Comment by kkempf — September 25, 2011 @ 3:31 pm

  27. kevin, the RCU have to be ran against the apps DB or i could use another one? thanks for your patience and wisdom 🙂

    Comment by Alejandro Allera — September 25, 2011 @ 11:56 pm

    • You can do it either way; it’s effectively a custom schema in your 11i instance; that’s where I keep it.

      Comment by kkempf — September 26, 2011 @ 7:18 am

  28. Hi,

    We are going to upgrade Oracle database 10g to 11g R2 and for that very reason we want to migrade our oracle discovere 10g to oracle discoverer 11g.

    Here I read all the post and find out the installation procedure of FMW 11g but I still have one question.Once we create new schema using RCU for oracle discovere 11g , then how can we migrate our old schema of oracle discovere 10g in to new oracle discovere 11g schema created by RCU.?

    Your help would eb much appreciated.

    Thanks,
    Ashwani

    Comment by Ashwani — November 10, 2011 @ 11:35 am

  29. Kevin,

    ERROR: “Creating Domain” Failed while installing Discoverer 11g on windows 2008 32 bit VM platform

    1) I created Schema using RCU
    2) Installed Weblogic server (oepe111130_wls1032_win32) …(Should i run it or start it before i begin discoverer 11g installation).
    3) While installing Discoverer 11g (ofm_pfrd_win_11.1.1.2.0_32_disk1_1of1,disc2,disc3,disc4 ) Getting error at the 2nd last part of “Configuration process” of Application configuration “Creating Domain” Failed….and it fails rest of all processes….

    Note: i tried it more than 4 to 5 times and i get the similar error…. I also used another win 2008 32 bit server i still have the same problem. Any suggestions….thanks in advance

    Disco Developer.

    Comment by Disco Developer — December 6, 2011 @ 10:07 pm

    • It sounds like you’re doing things right; I have 0 experience with this install under Windows. Did you check the install log? If you can’t find a smoking gun there (the log generally has more usable error messages), then my best advice would be to upload it to Oracle support and see what they can make of it.

      Comment by kkempf — December 7, 2011 @ 9:19 am

  30. Kevin thx for the reply… i am evaluating the discoverer 11g for the customer’s BI reporting needs….i dont know if oracle support will respond to my request with the development/unlicensed version… anyway here is the error output from the log file…if you think you can give any suggestions that will be great…meanwhile i will continue to investigate and keep trying with installations. thx

    Here is the first encounter of Error:
    oracle.as.provisioning.exception.ASProvWorkflowException: Error Executing workflow.
    at oracle.as.provisioning.engine.WorkFlowExecutor._createDomain(WorkFlowExecutor.java:688)
    at oracle.as.provisioning.engine.WorkFlowExecutor.executeWLSWorkFlow(WorkFlowExecutor.java:393)
    at oracle.as.provisioning.engine.Config.executeConfigWorkflow_WLS(Config.java:866)

    Here is the second encounter of Error:
    Caused by: java.net.ConnectException: t3://Analytics.domain.net:7001: Destination unreachable; nested exception is:
    java.net.ConnectException: Connection refused: connect; No available router to destination
    at weblogic.rjvm.RJVMFinder.findOrCreateInternal(RJVMFinder.java:216)
    at weblogic.rjvm.RJVMFinder.findOrCreate(RJVMFinder.java:170)
    at weblogic.rjvm.ServerURL.findOrCreateRJVM(ServerURL.java:153)
    at weblogic.jndi.WLInitialContextFactoryDelegate$1.run(WLInitialContextFactoryDelegate.java:345)
    at weblogic.security.acl.internal.AuthenticatedSubject.doAs(AuthenticatedSubject.java:363)
    at weblogic.security.service.SecurityManager.runAs(SecurityManager.java:146)
    at weblogic.jndi.WLInitialContextFactoryDelegate.getInitialContext(WLInitialContextFactoryDelegate.java:340)
    … 30 more

    Comment by Disco Developer — December 7, 2011 @ 2:16 pm

  31. successfully installed
    1) Destination unreachable; nested exception is:
    ok so i added IP Address and hosname in host file under system32/etc file to successfully install discoverer 11g

    2) ok here is the big deal…. to successfully install discoverer 11g.

    install FMW 11.1.1.2.0 without the “configure” option then Apply the 11.1.1.3 Patch Set, then configure… the installation is success and error free…

    Now the problem is what services do i need to start in order to start viewer and plus.. i tried to enter the urls u mentioned above with my server and domain in it… but i still get the error message… i also added tag .. i am not able to use viewer and plus… can u suggest one by one in detail.. thx a lot in advance

    Comment by Disco Developer — December 8, 2011 @ 5:19 am

  32. Hi Kevin,

    Can we do all this installation on our local machine(not server) as a developer tool?

    If yes, then do we also need to create schemas through RCU?

    Your suggestions would be very much appreciated.

    Thanks,
    Ashwani

    Comment by Ashwani Gupta — December 16, 2011 @ 12:33 pm

    • I don’t see any reason why you couldn’t install everything locally as long as you have lots of memory and aren’t concerned with performance. You would definitely need to create the schemas in the local database via RCU.

      Comment by kkempf — December 16, 2011 @ 1:37 pm

  33. Hi Kevin,

    Thanks for the precious information.

    We are using shared database and one application’s requirement is to set “NLS_LENGTH_SEMANTICS” to “CHAR” and the same time discoverer schema wants “NLS_LENGTH_SEMANTICS” to be “BYTE”, how can I continue with my installation.

    I got belwo mentioned error: NLS_LENGTH_SEMANTICS is not set to BYTE. Set this Database parameter NLS_LENGTH_SEMANTICS to BYTE and rerun RCU to load Discoverer schema.

    My Discoverer End User Layer (FREMS_EUL schema) is also residing in the same database.

    Please suggest something.

    Thanks in advance.

    Regards,
    Ashwani

    Comment by Ashwani Gupta — December 16, 2011 @ 3:40 pm

    • Based on conflicting init parameters, it looks like you need a separate database for Discoverer. My rule of thumb is that my responses are generally “general” in nature; what you’re asking is a detailed technical question so I’d defer you to Oracle support. You could probably find a definitive answer on their support site, but in the end, if they say “Discoverer requires this to be set to BYTE” then you need to set it to BYTE to run Discoverer EUL.

      Comment by kkempf — December 18, 2011 @ 10:34 am

  34. Hi Kevin,

    Do we need Oracle Identity Management Server 10.1.4.3 to configure discoverer 11g ?

    We are using one product FAMIS and vendor is saying we need Oracle Identity Management Server 10.1.4.3 to configure discoverer 11g, but I did not find it anywhere on Oracle site and on google.

    Thanks,
    Ashwani

    Comment by Ashwani Gupta — December 28, 2011 @ 2:54 pm

    • I can tell you definitively you don’t NEED to run the identity management server to use Discoverer 11g; that’s not to say some other product doesn’t require it to integrate.

      Comment by kkempf — December 28, 2011 @ 9:35 pm

  35. We have an Oracel 9i database, can someone tell me what is the latest version of Oracle Discoverer we can use to connect to the Database??

    We want to upgrade the current reporting server to Windows 2008, but are unsure if we install Discoverer on it, will it connect to the legacy 9i database???

    Many Thanks
    Neil

    Comment by Neil Lewis — February 7, 2012 @ 12:46 pm

    • I checked the oldest version of Oracle Discoverer (Desktop 11.1.1.4) and the oldest database it’s certified against is 10.2.0.3. I don’t know exactly which version of 9i you’re running, but it’s a fair bet to say no more recent version of Discoverer will be certified against any flavor of 9i. All that said, will it work? Probably. If you’re willing to go unsupported. Off the top of my head, I’d think Desktop 4i or Web-based Discoverer 10g would be worth a shot. I know I ran 4i against 9i but I can’t recall for certain with Disco 10g. Now getting your hands on those installs, that could be another problem altogether….

      Why not just install Discoverer 11g new and clean on a separate DB, and use Discoverer connections, data extracts, dblinks, materialized views or the like to present the data from your legacy system to the Discoverer environment?

      Comment by kkempf — February 7, 2012 @ 1:24 pm

  36. Hi Kevin,

    I installed WLS 10.3.2,then using RCU created disco tablespaces, i am doing this upgrade in test environment from 10g disco to 11g disco,

    I need few clarifications:

    after creating tablespaces using RCU (11gdisco_IAS_TEMP,11gdisco_DISCO_PTM5_CACHE,11gdisco_DISCO_PSTORE,11gdisco_DISCO_PTM5_META), it did not migrated all 10g EUL objects from EUL_US(10g EUL Schema)

    EUL_US schema having nearly 160 tables and indexes and RCU created schemas contain no data.

    OWNER SEGMENT_NAME SEGMENT_TYPE

    ————— —————————————- ——————–

    11gdisco_DISCOVERER PTM5_PLT_PK INDEX

    11gdisco_DISCOVERER PTM5_PLT_UK INDEX

    11gdisco_DISCOVERER PTM5_PORTLET TABLE

    11gdisco_DISCOVERER PTM5_VERSION TABLE

    Enter value for tablespace: 11gdisco_DISCO_PSTORE

    old 5: where lower(tablespace_name) like lower(‘%&tablespace%’)

    new 5: where lower(tablespace_name) like lower(‘%11gdisco_DISCO_PSTORE%’)

    OWNER SEGMENT_NAME SEGMENT_TYPE

    ————————————————– —————————————- ——————–

    11gdisco_DISCOVERER_PS SYS_C00249057 INDEX

    11gdisco_DISCOVERER_PS SYS_C00249059 INDEX

    11gdisco_DISCOVERER_PS SYS_C00249075 INDEX

    11gdisco_DISCOVERER_PS SYS_C00249078 INDEX

    11gdisco_DISCOVERER_PS SYS_IL0000506187C00010$$ LOBINDEX

    11gdisco_DISCOVERER_PS SYS_IL0000506194C00006$$ LOBINDEX

    11gdisco_DISCOVERER_PS SYS_LOB0000506187C00010$$ LOBSEGMENT

    11gdisco_DISCOVERER_PS SYS_LOB0000506194C00006$$ LOBSEGMENT

    11gdisco_DISCOVERER_PS WWHOSTING_SWITCH$ TABLE

    11gdisco_DISCOVERER_PS WWSEC_ENABLER_CONFIG_INFO$ TABLE

    11gdisco_DISCOVERER_PS WWSEC_SECI_PK INDEX

    11gdisco_DISCOVERER_PS WWSEC_SECI_UK1 INDEX

    11gdisco_DISCOVERER_PS WWSEC_SECI_UK2 INDEX

    11gdisco_DISCOVERER_PS WWSSO_APPLICATION_INFO_T TABLE

    11gdisco_DISCOVERER_PS WWSSO_APPUSERINFO_T TABLE

    11gdisco_DISCOVERER_PS WWSSO_LS_CONFIGURATION_INFO_T TABLE

    11gdisco_DISCOVERER_PS WWSSO_PS_CONFIGURATION_INFO_T TABLE

    SQL> /

    Enter value for tablespace: 11gdisco_DISCO_PTM5_CACHE

    old 5: where lower(tablespace_name) like lower(‘%&tablespace%’)

    new 5: where lower(tablespace_name) like lower(‘%11gdisco_DISCO_PTM5_CACHE%’)

    no rows selected

    Enter value for tablespace: 11gdisco_DISCO_PTM5_META

    old 5: where lower(tablespace_name) like lower(‘%&tablespace%’)

    new 5: where lower(tablespace_name) like lower(‘%11gdisco_DISCO_PTM5_META%’)

    OWNER SEGMENT_NAME SEGMENT_TYPE

    ————————————————– —————————————- ——————–

    11gdisco_DISCOVERER PTM5_PLT_PK INDEX

    11gdisco_DISCOVERER PTM5_PLT_UK INDEX

    11gdisco_DISCOVERER PTM5_PORTLET TABLE

    11gdisco_DISCOVERER PTM5_VERSION TABLE

    how did RCU migrate from 10g Disco schemas to 11g schemas.

    Comment by sathishk — February 9, 2012 @ 12:55 am

    • The RCU doesn’t migrate the old objects; at best it just creates metadata around them to allow them to run under 11g (can’t recall offhand). I think you’re fine.

      Comment by kkempf — February 14, 2012 @ 8:47 am


RSS feed for comments on this post.

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

Blog at WordPress.com.