Kevin Kempf's Blog

June 15, 2010

Deploying Agents via EM Grid Control 11g

Filed under: 11g, Enterprise Manager — kkempf @ 10:06 am

Typical caliber of Oracle agents

EM as I see it (for what it’s worth)

After upgrading to EM Grid Control 11g, I faced the daunting (read: boring) task of updating agents on about 12 hosts from 10.2.0.x to 11.1.0.1.  This action is not required, mind you, but never a bad idea to keep the agents up to date.

I’d been hearing conference after conference about how people were managing their enterprises with EM and how it had become a vital cog in their day to day activity.  I find EM useful, even important, but not vital.  Life would go on if the grid control server blew up, it would just be harder.

There are so many buttons, hyperlinks and tabs I chuckle at in EM.  Meaning the ones I would never hit.  Innocuous looking buttons and tabs that allegedly perform some of the most complicated tasks in Oracle.  Does anyone actually press these things, and use EM to perform the task?  If so I’d love to hear about it.  Things like:

  • Convert to Cluster Database
  • Perform Recovery
  • Clone Database
  • Failover to standby database
  • Migrate to ASM

Regardless, the point is that I decided to give Grid Control 11g the acid test: can it actually upgrade my agents remotely?  More to the point: can I do it without reading the documentation, applying 4 interim patches, and opening SR’s?

Staging Agent Installs

About the only preparation I had to make was to stage the agent installs on the EM server.  This is really easy; simply navigate to $OMS_HOME/sysman/agent_download (/u01/oem/Middleware/oms11g/sysman/agent_download in my case) and make directories to land the agents in as necessary.  You can download the agents here.

For example, under $OMS_HOME/sysman/agent_download, I created two directories: 11.1.0.1.0 and 10.2.0.5.0 for the two possible agent version I may deploy (linux and Windows, respectively).  Under 11.1.0.1.0 I had 2 subdirectories: linux and linux_x64; under 10.2.0.5 I had 1 subdirectory: win32.

Navigation

Head to the Deployments tab in EM, it will look like this:

Deployment Tab

Choose an action

In this example, I’m doing an Upgrade.  I’ve also tested Fresh Install.  I can’t speak to the other options (Clone, Shared Agent), quite frankly they look unappealing to me.

Fresh or Upgrade?

Fill in the blanks

Of course, you need to select the right version and platform from the drop down box.  What’s available in the drop down box is dependent upon what you staged in the $OMS_HOME in the first step.

One of my favorite screens

Seriously, Oracle, enough!  Stop asking me for my email address!  If you don’t know who I am and what products I have installed by now… too bad.

I always feel like somebody's watching me

Really, I’m sure

Why don't you leave me alone?

Install in progress

This screen starts with some validations against things like attempting the ssh connection username/password, checking inventory permissions, directory structures, etc.  If there’s anything amiss, it will tell you so.

If  you watch this portion from the OS (Linux) you will see that the old agent doesn’t shut down until late in the process; it’s virtually a seamless gap between the time the old agent is down and the new one is up.

Working

Installation Complete

Conclusion

In short: it worked!  Oracle, you don’t do it often, but in this case, I’ll give credit where credit is due and say that you’ve made my life easier this time.  It not only worked, it did it faster, better and easier than I would have been able to do it manually, and that’s all I can ask.  I highly recommend trying this method out for yourself.

It is worth mentioning, that I had a Windows which was on 10.2.0.4 which I decided to upgrade, out of curiosity, and it worked in the same way as Linux, successfully.

2 Comments

  1. […] sure enough, it shows up as an option under deployments in EM.  I go through the process outlined here to push the install, and it fails because SSH isn’t running on the Windows host.  Who runs […]

    Pingback by No more OUI/GUI Agent install for 11.1 on Windows « Kevin Kempf's Blog — January 13, 2011 @ 9:57 am


RSS feed for comments on this post.

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.