Kevin Kempf's Blog

February 15, 2010

Advanced Compression with 11i, Take 2, Day 1

Filed under: 11g, 11i, advanced compression, Bugs — kkempf @ 10:56 am

So far, so good

After waiting about a year since my first attempt, the timing was finally right for me to patch the core 11.1.0.7 RDBMS with Patch 8277580: ORA-07445: [__INTEL_NEW_MEMCPY()+44].  This was Oracle’s fix for the data corruption I was seeing on my dataguard physical standby after I compressed BOM.CST_ITEM_COST_DETAILS (no other tables seemed affected in this way).

I had my doubts, but nearly 24 hours later, and several cost rollup runs have elapsed without incident. The raw stats look great:

OWNER TABLE_NAME                     VERSION         PRE_COMPRESSION_MB POST_COMPRESSION_MB COMPRESSION_RATIO
----- ------------------------------ --------------- ------------------ ------------------- -----------------
BOM   CST_ITEM_COST_DETAILS          11.1.0.7.0                 1717.38              429.88               .75

By the way, it’s amazing how much “stuff” touches that particular table in a discrete manufacturing 11i environment.  Can you tell when I recreated the indexes?

Rebuild your indexes!

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.