Kevin Kempf's Blog

January 8, 2010

SQL Developer 2.1

Filed under: Uncategorized — kkempf @ 10:07 am

Froglike?

OTN had made SQL Developer 2.1 available late last year; I finally got around to updating my version from 1.5 something.  Can’t say I use many of the advanced feature set it offers such as code versioning, unit testing or data modeling, but I do use it regularly.  If you aren’t aware of the product, or haven’t tried it yet, I’d encourage you to take a look.  It feels suspiciously like the (DBA universally despised) TOAD, but since it’s free, I gave it a pass and found it useful on occasion.

  • It’s really easy to display table contents, and edit or export the data.
  • When one of the analysts at the Oracle Support brain trust tells you in your SR that they need a csv version of some random query, it can easily be accommodated via SQL Devleoper.
  • It’s hard to cite a good example, but there’s times when I’m not sure exactly what I’m looking for in the database, I may only know an object name or schema name.  This tool is a great way to “browse” the database, especially with it’s filtering capability.

Browsing a table in SQL Developer

Blog at WordPress.com.