Kevin Kempf's Blog

October 14, 2009

Open World

Filed under: Oracle — kkempf @ 12:45 pm

This year we like Sun again!

This year we like Sun again!

Open World is this week, and I was watching the  marketing keynote session from Sunday where Scott McNealy was talking about how Oracle/Sun crushed IBM’s seventy something rack machine at some fraction of  the cost/power/size etc etc etc.  You can view these videos here, and I’d strongly urge you to do so.  I take all of these things with a grain of salt, but I do believe that these configurations probably do deliver outstanding performance.  But I really don’t “get” the appeal of the database machine (X) version 2.0 (Sun this year not HP) to the average IT shop.  I believe there’s a lot of marketing frenzy (from Oracle) about something some small fraction of their customer base would ever need, much less want.  In other words, who needs this much power and at this cost, outside of Fortune 500 companies?  For the $1.1 million list price of their full rack, I believe we could repurchase everything in our data center.  Probably twice.  Don’t get me wrong, I fully understand I’m not their target audience, but my point is… why are they targeting me?

If you have to ask how much it costs... you can't afford it

If you have to ask how much it costs... you can't afford it

Enough about that.  One final thought on all of this is Open World itself.  I’ve attended 3 times in 8 years, and after last year, I’m in no hurry to return.  My major gripes:

  • This thing is too big for itself now.  Oracle has so many products I found myself bouncing from building to building all over a 3 city-block area.  All this while dodging the other ~40,000 attendees.
  • I live on the East coast.  San Francisco is on the West coast.  It would be really nice if they rotated the location like in the past.  It may be convenient for Oracle to host the event in California, but it’s not convenient for me, especially in the modern (annoying) age of travel.  Perhaps I’m getting tired of SF after so many visits, as well.
  • $.  This thing costs a small fortune, after you figure in coast to coast airfare, 5 days in a $250/night hotel, meals in an expensive city, and the cost of attending the conference itself ($2500).
  • I had this creepy feeling like I was at Oracle cheerleading camp last year

I skipped it this year, and hope to give Collaborate a whirl this Spring.

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.