Kevin Kempf's Blog

September 23, 2009

Using Custom Metrics in Enterprise Manager to Monitor Applications 11i (Part I)

Filed under: 11i, EM to monitor 11i, Enterprise Manager, Oracle — kkempf @ 9:26 am

Oracle calls me from time to time, and inevitably every few months I’m asked why I’m not using the Applications Management pack in Enterprise Manager to monitor my 11i environment.  I tell them that I have no compelling reason to pay for something which I feel I can code myself through user-defined metrics.  I’ve found these user-defined metrics to be one of the most powerful and flexible features in EM.

At present, I use 30 custom metrics to monitor what I’ve found to be critical pieces of the ERP in a production environment.  It would be a rather long blog entry to go through all of them, but for purposes of this entry, I’ll cover how to set up a custom metric and how to monitor the Standard Managers.

To begin, you can get to the custom metrics screen by navigating to a database target (in this case, the ERP production database) and scrolling all the way to the bottom.  Click User-Defined Metrics and you will get to a screen like this:

User-Defined Metrics Base Screen

User-Defined Metrics Base Screen

At this point, let’s assume there are no existing User-Defined Metrics, and you wish to create a metric which monitors the number of Standard Managers running.  Click on the create button in the top right, and you get a screen like this:

Screenshot-Oracle Enterprise Manager (KKEMPF) - Create User-Defined Metric - Mozilla Firefox

The bottom part of the screen looks like this:

Screenshot-Oracle Enterprise Manager (KKEMPF) - Create User-Defined Metric - Mozilla Firefox-1

It’s really rather self explanatory; you name your metric, and define whether the sql query you wrote will return number or character.  Single value versus column is well explained in the form.  After you enter your SQL:

select to_number(running_processes) from apps.fnd_concurrent_queues where concurrent_queue_name = ‘STANDARD’

and the apps username and password, you can hit the TEST button to confirm you receive expected results.  Finally, you define what the critical (and warning, if desired) thresholds are (in this case, I’m using 12 standard managers so anything less that this is a problem).  My alert message uses %Key% which simply means if this alert is triggered, it will tell me what the current number of standard managers is, and finally I tell it how frequently to poll.  That’s it!  Hit OK and it will show up on your user-defined metrics page now (takes a bit of time for the first query to show up on this screen, but it will eventually, or at least it will show a metric collection error if there is a problem).

Next time: More metrics, and how to receive these user-defined metric alerts in e-mail…

Blog at WordPress.com.