Kevin Kempf's Blog

June 9, 2014

Google’s message to Ubuntu users of Chrome 35 and JRE

Filed under: Chrome, Ubuntu — kkempf @ 10:59 am

mf

Take that Chrome Users!

OK, they really didn’t do that.  But they might as well have.

Ubuntu at Work

I like using Ubuntu as my primary desktop at work.  I have to keep Windoze around for compatibility issues, but Linux is much faster and more reliable.  Recently, I found that I kept getting the error “Java Plugin Not Installed”.  I finally had time to dig into it, and it turns out it was due to an upgrade from Chrome 34 to Chrome 35.  The sym link in my /opt/google/chrome/plugins directory was still good, but Chrome 35 just ignores it.  I found all this out (ironically) with a lot of Googling, I found this

http://askubuntu.com/questions/470485/java-plugin-issue-on-chrome-browser

I won’t say I understand all the jargon, but the gist of it is this: for whatever reason, Chrome on Linux no longer supports Oracle JDK/JRE as of a few weeks ago.  Here’s a funny thread showing me I’m not the only one unamused by this:

https://code.google.com/p/chromium/issues/detail?id=375909

The Fix

If you find yourself in this spot, just use Ubuntu software center to uninstall Chrome, go pull version 34 here and reinstall.  Then it magically works again, and I can get into the EBS forms.  Google, I know you don’t care what I think, but seriously?  It’s Oracle Java.  Pretty universal, and this open source Iced Tea stuff doesn’t cut it for big boy applications.  Please restore this functionality, or I’ll have to move to the F-browser and nobody wants that!

1 Comment »

  1. […] started stopping Java from running in Chrome which I noted here.  It was technically never certified with Oracle EBS, so I hold them least culpable at the […]

    Pingback by R12.2, Oracle Java, Microsoft, Google and Security | Kevin Kempf's Blog — August 7, 2014 @ 11:51 am


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Theme: Silver is the New Black. Get a free blog at WordPress.com

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 30 other followers